The Serbian-American physicist and engineer Nikola Tesla (1856-1943) was the inventor of the eponymous Tesla Coil.

Description

Most people nowadays know him as the namesake of the electric car, while others who know a little more of him might know him as a bit of an eccentric popstar in the long list of important inventors. In his long career as a scientist and inventor he came to hold several hundred patent rights to various inventions.

He originally invented the Tesla Coil in order to transmit electricity without the use of wires. While this did not pan out quite as he had hoped, his invention still finds its use today. The coil is the perfect tool to explore and demonstrate the effects of high frequency alternating current (AC). To us this machine has two key merits: it can simulate lightning through the discharge of electric current in the surrounding air and it can be used to accompany music – both forming excellent preconditions for tantalising stage shows.

Principle

Technically, Tesla Coils are resonant transformers that produce high frequency alternating current. Upon the push of a button, they produce cracking bolts of white or colourful electric discharge.

For most of our performances we use Solid State Tesla Coils that are attached to a CPU. Our coils can play polyphonic audio tracks in MIDI format and can be used to accompany any musical performance. If we program the CPU according to certain scores, these coils do not only produce a lightning bolt effect, but hums, cracks and notes in harmony.

Process

We use Tesla Coils in different sizes and variations. On request, we program the CPU to play a specific melody or bring several coils into harmony with on another, to let them play in tandem.

We also perform ourselves in these high voltage shows, both in museums or in science centres. To do this we make use of our Faraday suit, or allow the visitors themselves to interact with the lightning protected by a Faraday wall.

Example

Fulgurit: The Tesla sweet

Production of fulgurite in sugar. The discharge from the coil in standard AC mode is passed through a container of sugar for approximately 20 seconds. A piece of fulgurite is formed from sugar and can be passed to the audience as a giveaway.

Example

Faraday: Cage and Suit

A Faraday cage is a protective shell made from conductive material. This cage shields anyone within it from exposure to fields of external static electricity. Michael Faraday first discovered this effect in 1836 and is thus the namesake of both the cage and our suit. Since the beginning of the early 20th century, this technology has been used in events and performances, in order to ensure the safety of performers working with high voltage electricity. There is no electrical field (and thus, no current) within the Faraday cage.

The Faraday suit works according to the same principle. It is made from a stainless steel mesh and is produced in sizes S, M, and L. The suits come with a hood, a pair of trousers with a bib held up by straps, and a shirt and gloves. By virtue of this design, different people of similar build can wear the suit.

Die Tesla-Spule ist benannt nach ihrem Erfinder Nikola Tesla (1856-1943), einem US-amerikanischen Physiker und Elektroingenieur mit serbischen Wurzeln.

Beschreibung

Die meisten kennen ihn als Namenspatron eines Elektroautos, andere bezeichnen ihn als Popstar unter den Erfindern. Im Laufe seines Forscherlebens erhielt Tesla mehrere Hundert Patente.

Tesla entwickelte die Tesla-Spule um elektrische Energie drahtlos zu übertragen. Sein Plan ging nur bedingt auf, doch die Erfindung lebt bis heute weiter. Tesla-Spulen eignen sich hervorragend um die Wirkung hochfrequenter Wechselspannung zu demonstrieren. Für die Effektschmiede hat die Spule zwei unschlagbare Vorteile: Sie liefert Blitzeffekte und kann Töne wiedergeben — die Grundlage für atemberaubende Bühnenshows.

Prinzip

Technisch gesprochen sind Tesla-Spulen resonant Transformatoren zur Erzeugung hochfrequenter Wechselspannung. Per Knopfdruck entstehen knisternde weiße oder farbige Entladungen.

Für unsere Inszenierungen verwenden wir Solid State Tesla-Spulen. Statt eines Funkenrads ist hier eine CPU der Impulsgeber. Unsere Spulen können polyphone Audiospuren im MIDI-Format wiedergeben und lassen sich als Musikinstrument nutzen. Wenn wir einer Tesla-Spule über den Computer entsprechende Impulse geben, produziert sie nicht nur Blitze, sondern auch Töne, Melodien oder Geräusche.

Prozess

Wir nutzen Tesla-Spulen in vielen Größen und Variationen. Auf Wunsch lassen wir die Spule ein bestimmtes Musikstück abspielen oder mehrere Tesla-Spulen im Chor ertönen.

Gern führen wir unsere Hochspannungsshows auch selbst vor - Museen oder auf Science Festivals. Zur Sicherheit tragen wir dabei einen Faraday Anzug oder lassen die Besucher durch eine Faraday Wand mit den Blitzen spielen.

Beispiel

Fulgurit: Das Tesla Bonbon

Herstellung eines Fulgurites in Zucker. Die Funkenentladung der Spule wird ca. 20 Sekunden durch einen Behälter mit Zucker geleitet. Es entsteht ein Fulgurit aus Zucker, der als Giveaway an das Publikum weitergegeben werden kann.

Beispiel

Faraday: Käfig und Anzug

Ein Faraday Käfig ist eine Hülle aus leitendem Material. Solch eine Hülle schirmt Felder externer statischer Elektrizität ab. Michael Faraday hat diesen Effekt 1836 entdeckt und ist deswegen der Namensgeber dieser Schutzeinrichtung. Seit dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert werden Faraday Käfige im Veranstaltungsbereich eingesetzt, um Personen gefahrlos den Entladungen zum Beispiel einer Tesla Spule auszusetzen. Es gibt keine elektrischen Felder (keine Spannung) innerhalb des Faraday Käfigs.

Nach dem gleichem Prinzip funktioniert auch unser Faraday Anzug, der aus einem aus einem Edelstahlgewebe besteht. Die Anzüge werden in den Konfektionsgrößen S, M und L zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Anzüge bestehen aus einer Haube, einer Hose mit Latz und einem Hemd mit Handschuhen und werden individuell gefertigt. Durch das spezielle Design wird gewährleistet, dass auch verschiedene Personen mit ähnlicher Statur den Anzug tragen können.