Our passion for physical phenomena and experimentation is what animates us. Our relentless thirst for invention is what connects us. And our desire to work creatively alongside one another is what excites us.

Who we are

Effektschmiede is a Cologne-based art collective, a manufacture of experiences, and a laboratory, all in one. Effektschmiede works with natural physical phenomena. We conceive and create installations for science centres, gardens and parks and public spaces.

As an experience factory, our work is about inspiring astonishment and inviting people to dream. It plays with fire and water, light and mist, voltage and energy. All installations correspond with the highest technical standards, are tailor-made for the space or room and all are individually planned and conceived by Judith Mann and her team.

What unites us: the fun of experimenting, the intellectual challenge of thinking through complex processes, playful interaction with natural phenomena, creative tinkering and composition, and the pleasure in skilled manual work.

Judith Mann

Graduate engineer/architect and pyrotechnician, founder and managing director of Effektschmiede, responsible for concept, composition and design

Johanna Mann

Certificate in retail management, team assistant for Effektschmiede, responsible for project and event organisation

Andreas Korth

Supervisor of special effects for film, television and events, theatre props master, technical management at Effektschmiede, responsible for the development of exhibits and special effects for film and television

Conrad Keuck

Agricultural and construction machinery mechatronic engineer, lighting technician for film and television, technician at Effektschmiede, responsible for the construction of exhibits, high voltage technology and electrotechnology

How we work

We want to astound adults and children and awaken their curiosity – about science, experiments and discoveries. To do so, we create illusions and stagings, offer new perspectives and sensory experiences.

Our customers appreciate the high quality of our works and our capacity for complex and solution-orientated thinking. We do not supply mass-produced goods, but timeless and long-lasting, made-to-measure solutions. Because we are a small team, we are nimble and can change our direction of thought at any time. With particularly tricky problems we may occasionally be stretched to our limits, in which case we call on experts from outside.

For us, every commission is a welcome challenge. Our team puzzles out all of the projects together. To begin with, we set off a small explosion of ideas and forge a firm plan. Then everyone carries on with the work in their own area of expertise, until the next team meeting takes place. We are each in deep concentration when we work and we have a love for detail. During the planning phases, it’s often as quiet as a mouse in our workshop. When we try out our exhibits, it can become a lot louder, however. The entire process is carried out in consultation with the client and demands our full commitment.

What we treasure most

Visitors say about the stagings: ›Oh, that’s beautiful, just like a scene from a dream!‹ People stop, pause, look, relax, enjoy themselves, laugh and marvel.

Unsere Leidenschaft für Naturphänomene und der Spaß am Experimentieren treiben uns an. Unser unermüdlicher Erfindergeist verbindet uns. Und uns begeistert die kreative Arbeit im Team.

Wer wir sind

Die Effektschmiede ist ein Kölner Kunstkollektiv, Manufaktur für Erlebnisse und Versuchslabor in einem. Wir sind leidenschaftliche Erfinder und entwickeln Installationen für Science Center, Gärten, Parks und öffentliche Räume.

Wir verzaubern die Menschen und machen sie klüger – mit Sachverstand und Sinn für Poesie. Unsere Arbeiten spielen mit Feuer und Wasser, Licht und Nebel, Spannung und Energie. Kreativer Kopf an der Spitze ist die Künstlerin und Architektin Judith Mann. Was uns auszeichnet: Wir vereinen künstlerische Gestaltung mit technischer Präzision und zuverlässigem Projektmanagement. Je ungewöhnlicher der Auftrag, desto besser!

Was uns verbindet: der Spaß am Experimentieren, das gedankliche Durchdringen komplexer Vorgänge, der spielerische Umgang mit Naturphänomenen, das kreative Tüfteln und Gestalten, die Freude an der handwerklichen Arbeit.

Judith Mann

Dipl.-Ing. Architektin und Pyrotechnikerin, Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin der Effektschmiede, zuständig für Konzept, Gestaltung und Design

Johanna Mann

Einzelhandelskauffrau, Team-Assistentin und zuständig für Projekt und Veranstaltungsorganisation

Andreas Korth

Supervisor Spezialeffekte für Film/Fernsehen/Events, Ausstatter im Theater, technische Leitung und zuständig für Exponatentwicklung und Spezialeffekte für Film/Fernsehen

Conrad Keuck

Land- und Baumaschinenmechatroniker, Beleuchter bei Film und Fernsehen, Techniker und zuständig für Exponatbau, Hochspannungstechnik und Eletrotechnik

Wie wir arbeiten

Wir wollen Erwachsene und Kinder zum Staunen bringen und ihre Neugier wecken – auf Wissen, Experimente und Entdeckungen. Dazu erschaffen wir Illusionen und Inszenierungen, bieten neue Perspektiven und sinnliche Erfahrungen.

Unsere Kunden schätzen die hohe Qualität unserer Werke und unsere Fähigkeit, komplex und lösungsorientiert zu denken. Wir liefern keine Massenware, sondern Maßanfertigungen, die zeitlos und langlebig sind. Als kleines Team sind wir beweglich und können jederzeit die Denkrichtung ändern. Bei besonderen Problemstellungen stoßen selbst wir manchmal an unserer Grenzen und ziehen deshalb externe Spezialisten hinzu.

Für uns ist jeder Auftrag eine willkommene Herausforderung. Unser Team tüftelt alle Projekte gemeinsam aus. Am Anfang entzünden wir ein kleines Feuerwerk der Ideen und schmieden einen konkreten Plan. Dann arbeitet jeder in seinem Bereich weiter, bis die nächste Teamrunde folgt. Wir arbeiten hochkonzentriert und mit Liebe zum Detail. In den Planungsphasen ist es oft mucksmäuschenstill bei uns. Wenn wir Exponate ausprobieren, kann es gerne schon mal lauter werden. Der gesamte Prozess verläuft in Abstimmung mit dem Auftraggeber und fordert unseren vollen Einsatz.

Was am schönsten ist

Bei Inszenierungen mit Nebel sagen die Besucher: ›Oh, ist das schön, das ist ja wie eine Traumszene!‹ Die Leute bleiben stehen, sie verweilen, sie schauen, sie entspannen sich, sie freuen sich, sie lachen und sie wundern sich.